The D4 Motorway and R7 Expressway Project oversees the construction of the southern part of Bratislava Bypass and part of the southern expressway network, linking the west and the east part of Slovakia.

The D4R7- Bratislava Bypass is a Public Private Partnership (PPP) project, defined as a long-term contract between a private party and a government entity. The contract  consists of the design, construction, financing and operation of 27 km of the D4 motorway around Bratislava, Slovakia, as well as of 32 km of the R7 expressway. The new 27 km D4 motorway will create a bypass to the east of the city and a connection with the existing radial roads. The project also involves building the new 32-kilometre R7 radial expressway, running in a south-easterly direction from the city centre.

The new road infrastructure will provide increased transport capacity to the Slovak Capital and the neighbouring region, improving connectivity locally and internationally with enhanced safety and more reliable journey times.

The entire length of the possible future Bratislava Bypass (consisting of the D4 motorway) is approximately 47km. The bypass would start at Jarovce – Kittsee, at the state border with Austria. It then continues towards Jarovce, Ivanka pri Dunaji and Stupava, until reaching the urban area of Devinska Nova Ves. Once the whole D4 motorway is completed, it will sustain a steady transport flow between Austria, Hungary, the Czech Republic and Poland, avoiding residential areas.

Construction phases

The project is being executed in 5 sections:

  1. Section of the D4 Highway. Jarovce to Ivanka Sever. Two lanes each way, 22.6 km long, 45 bridges (including the new bridge over the Danube River) and 6 junctions.
  2. Section of the D4 Highway. Ivanka Sever to Rača. With two lanes in each direction and a 2-km stretch with 3 lanes each way, this segment is 4.4 km long. It has 12 bridges and 3 junctions.
  3. Section R7 Highway. From Bratislava Prievoz to Ketelec. A stretch with three lanes each way and a 900-m section with two lanes in each direction, for a total length 6.3 km for this section. It has 15 bridges and 3 junctions.
  4. Section. R7 Highway. From Ketelec to Dunajská Lužná. It has two lanes in each direction and is 8.4 km long, with 10 bridges and 2 .Sección Autovía R7. De Dunajská Lužná a Holice.
  5. Section. R7 Highway. From Dunajská Lužná to Holice. A section with two lanes each way and a length of 17.4 km. This includes the construction of 12 bridges and 2 junctions.